Category B1 authorization entitles the holder to issue Certificates of Release to Service after maintenance work, including work on: the airframe; the engines;  mechanical and electrical systems.

Category B1 authorization includes the replacement of quickly replaceable avionic units for which a simple check (usually on board) is required to verify their integrity for further operation.

Category B1 authorization automatically entitles the holder to issue Category A Certificates of Release to Service. Category B1 is subdivided into subcategories relative to combinations of aeroplanes, helicopters, turbine and piston engines as following:

B1.1: Aeroplanes – Turbine

B1.2: Aeroplanes – Piston

B1.3: Helicopters – Turbine

B1.4: Helicopters – Piston


  • An applicant should be at least 17 years of age with the ability to read and understand English.
  • An applicant must be at least Matriculate, O-levels or Equivalent.

Note: Students awaiting results can apply for provisional admission.

Modules Covered

Module 1 – Mathematics

Module 2 – Physics

Module 3– Electrical Fundamentals

Module 4 – Electronic Fundamentals

Module 5 – Digital Techniques & EIS

Module 6 – Materials & Hardware

Module 7 – Maintenance Practices

Module 8 – Basic Aerodynamics

Module 9 – Human Factors

Module 10 – Aviation Legislation

Module 11 – Aeroplane Aerodynamics, Structure and Systems

Module 15 – Gas Turbine Engine

Module 17 – Propellers

Course Duration

Three (03) Years Training Program.